Blogs at Amazon

« Yes! Verdun! | Main | 5 Young Lions and 20 Oranges »

It Must Be Something in the Air: Science Fiction Awards Frenzy!

Wow. You turn your back for one second and SF award announcements pop up like colorful exotic weeds.

First, the Philip K. Dick Award goes to Omnivoracious favorite M.J. Harrison for Nova Swing, then the British SF Association Awards in London announce another favorite Ian McDonald as the winner for best novel with Brasyl. (Those crazy Brits also annointed Brian Aldiss' Non-Stop as Best Novel of 1958, marking a really odd trend in SF of literary time travel.)

And, finally, the Prometheus Awards for "best Libertarian SF" of 2007 announced their finalists. It's a virtual monopoly, with all five novels published by Tor: Ragamuffin by Tobias S. Buckell, The Execution Channel by Ken MacLeod, Fleet of Worlds by Larry Niven & Edward M. Lerner, The Gladiator by Harry S. Turtledove, and Ha'Penny by Jo Walton. Apparently, there's not a single libertarian at Eos, Bantam, and Del Rey, et al.

What this means for Tor isn't clear, but I would expect startling effects. As the libertarian infiltration continues, the publisher will no doubt seek readers without the tyranny of bookstores or printed pages. Editors will declare their desks separate sovereign territories and render them tax-free. The Flat-Iron Building Tor occupies--narrow enough as it is--will become a libertarian stronghold, with the hundred thousand different libertarian flags flying overhead.

Which is another way of saying awards season has me delirious. (But, seriously, what's up with the BSFA awarding a best novel from 1958? Did they forget to do 1958?)


Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

I believe Ken MacLeod is a former flaming socialist who is now more of an anarcho-libertarian, whatever the hell that is.

Yeah, MacLeod's TOTALLY a flaming socialist. Which would explain why he's already won the Prometheus three times.

And note who won the very FIRST Prometheus Award -- "Wheels Within Wheels" by F Paul Wilson in 1979. (The award was not presented again until 1982.) He won again in 2004 with "Sims" -- a Tor/Forge Book. You've obviously started uncovering . . . something . . .

Isn't Ken MacLeod a flaming socialist?

And while I love Turtledove's books, that doesn't include his Crosstime series (which includes The Gladiator). Or have they stopped being Politically Correct "oh the world is doomed" dreck?

The 1958 Best Novel award was a special one-off this year to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the BSFA.

Post a comment

If you have a TypeKey or TypePad account, please Sign In.

Omnivoracious™ Contributors

January 2015

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31