Omni Daily Crush: "Alphabeasties"

In my last crush I fessed up to having a thing for dictionaries, so now I feel perfectly comfortable talking about my obsession with typefaces. In fact, I may use all future crushes to confess my secret reading tastes. Wouldn't that be an interesting spin on PostSecret? Reader confessions. What would you admit to loving? Or hating? Hmmmmm. Anyway, back to my crush. My point is that I love looking at typefaces and thinking about type. It all started on an incredibly dull road trip, when a designer friend of mine mentioned how important typeface was for roadsigns--how it was key to find just the right type to help travelers read signs while they are zipping along at 75 miles an hour. I was fascinated. Since then I've been collecting books about fonts. Today, I came across Alphabeasties, a book that helps the type-obsessed share and explain their interest in letters to kids. Written by graphic designers Sharon Werner and Sarah Forss, Alphabeasties is a gorgeous, interactive picturebook, where groups of letters form the shapes of animals, and a single letters paired creatively with illustrations can represent anything (a cursive "f" turns into a finch, a "p" becomes a patch on the face of a pirate, an "s" forms the body of a swan). Every page of this book is covered in engaging type, from the jacket to the endpapers to the cloth binding. A fun, creative way to teach little ones their ABCs (and get 'em hooked on type!). --Daphne

Recommended for fans of Charley Harper ABCs, Not a Box, Little Pea, and Follow the Line.

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays

News + Features

News Features

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube