2011 Philip K. Dick Award Finalists Announced, Including Maureen McHugh, Mira Grant, and More


The Philip K. Dick Award finalists for best original Science Fiction published in paperback form in the United States have just been announced:

A Soldier's Duty by Jean Johnson (Ace Books)

After the Apocalypse by Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer Press)

Deadline by Mira Grant (Orbit)

The Company Man by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)

The Other by Matthew Hughes (Underland Press)

The Postmortal by Drew Magary (Penguin Books)

The Samuil Petrovitch Trilogy by Simon Morden (Orbit)

The hot hand here clearly belongs to Maureen F. McHugh with After the Apocalypse from Small Beer, the only short story collection on the ballot. It’s a brilliant book that hit the trifecta of starred reviews in Booklist, Kirkus, and Publishers Weekly. Michael Dirda called an “irresistible festival of horrors” in the Washington Post. Publishers Weekly and io9.com both put it on their year’s best list.

Leave a Comment

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this blog until approved.

Comments (0)

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube