Children's Books' 2012 Golden Kite Award Winners

The Golden Kite Awards and Honors are particularly special for those who create children's books because they are the only awards given by their peers in the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.

Founded in 1971, the Golden Kite Awards are given in four categories, each with a winning and honored book: fiction, nonfiction, picture book text, and picture book illustration.  A winner is also selected each year to receive the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor. Here are the 2012 winners and honorees:



Picture Book Text:

Picture Book Illustration:

Sid Fleischman Award for Humor: The Fourth Stall



Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays

News + Features

News Features


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube