Nebula Award Winners Announced: Kim Stanley Robinson, Nancy Kress, and More

This weekend in San Jose, California, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America announced the winners of the Nebula Award, given for excellence in SF/F. Kim Stanley Robinson’s 2312 won for best novel, confirming Omni’s prediction that Robinson was among the favorites. The full list of winners is:

2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, Nancy Kress (Tachyon)

“Close Encounters,” Andy Duncan (The Pottawatomie Giant & Other Stories)

Short Story:
“Immersion,” Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 6/12)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation:
Beasts of the Southern Wild

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book:
Fair Coin, E.C. Myers (Pyr)

Robinson has often been considered a master of world-building, plot, and inspired exposition. In 2312 he created flawed, compelling characters and an intriguing vision of the future. Nancy Kress and Andy Duncan are perennial Nebula favorites, while the win for rising star Aliette de Bodard is her first—and a rare Nebula win for any writer not from the U.S. or U.K. Bodard was also up for best novella for On a Red Station, Drifting, available in book form.

Kim Stanley Robinson viewed through his Nebula Award

Gregory Bossert, whose fiction has appeared in Asimov’s SF Magazine, among others, attended the awards ceremony as a guest of Asimov’s editor-in-chief Sheila Williams at the Dell Magazine table. He reported back to Omnivoracious that the highlights included “Outgoing SFWA president John Scalzi's warm introduction of the Solstice Award posthumously to Carl Sagan, and Nick Sagan's gracious and inspiring speech accepting on his father's behalf,” with Ginjer Buchanan also winning a Soltice Award. Michael H. Payne, meanwhile, was given the Kevin O’Donnell Jr. Service to SFWA Award.

Bossert thought toastmaster Robert Silverberg was “wry and sharp-witted throughout, never more so than in his introduction of the Damon Knight Grand Master Award for lifetime achievement to Gene Wolfe. Wolfe’s acceptance speech was both funny and moving; he concluded by saying that as nice as the awards are, and as wonderful and strange the people in attendance, in the end there was no place like home, and for him, home was the books.”

In addition, Bossert found Aliette de Bodard's “shock and near-tearful joy at winning short story Nebula a delightful break from the banter of the Nebula veterans.”

Kim Stanley Robinson's acceptance speech for 2312 “deftly wrapped up the ceremony by returning to the respect and appreciation he and the assembled SFWA members have for newly anointed Grand Master Gene Wolfe and his works. This led to an un-staged and riotous standing ovation for Wolfe, and then a long evening of celebration.”

Gene Wolfe, David G. Hartwell, and Kim Stanley Robinson

Leave a Comment

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this blog until approved.

Comments (0)

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube