Caitlin R. Kiernan, Mort Castle, Joyce Carol Oates among 2013 Bram Stoker Award Winners in Horror

It was a frightfully fabulous weekend for the Horror Writers Association, which spent the last few days in New Orleans hosting the Bram Stoker Awards™ Weekend 2013, as well as the World Horror Convention. Amid the panels and art shows, readings, and signings, the gala presentation honored writers in 11 categories, including Novel, Graphic Novel, Nonfiction, Screenplay, and Poetry.

Drowning GirlCaitlin R. Kiernan won best novel for The Drowning Girl, Joyce Carol Oates shared an award, and Mort Castle walked away with two haunted house trophies. Lifetime Achievement Awards went to Clive Barker and Robert R. McCammon.

The complete list of 2013 category nominees and winners were as follows:


  • Caitlin R. Kiernan -- The Drowning Girl (winner)
  • Benjamin Kane Ethridge -- Bottled Abyss
  • John Everson -- NightWhere
  • Bentley Little -- The Haunted
  • Joe McKinney -- Inheritance


    Life Rage First Novel

  • L.L. Soares -- Life Rage (winner)
  • Michael Boccacino -- Charlotte Markham and the House of Darkling
  • Deborah Coates -- Wide Open
  • Charles Day -- The Legend of the Pumpkin Thief
  • Peter Dudar -- A Requiem for Dead Flies
  • Richard Gropp -- Bad Glass


    Flesh & Bone Young Adult Novel

  • Jonathan Maberry -- Flesh & Bone (winner)
  • Libba Bray -- The Diviners
  • Barry Lyga -- I Hunt Killers
  • Michael McCarty -- I Kissed A Ghoul
  • Maggie Stiefvater -- The Raven Boys
  • Jeff Strand -- A Bad Day for Voodoo


    Witch Hunts Graphic Novel 

  • Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton -- Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times (winner)
  • Cullen Bunn -- The Sixth Gun Volume 3: Bound
  • Terry Moore -- Rachel Rising Vol. 1: The Shadow of Death
  • Ravi Thornton -- The Tale of Brin and Bent and Minno Marylebone
  • Peter J. Wacks and Guy Anthony De Marco -- Behind These Eyes

    Long Fiction

  • Gene O’Neill -- The Blue Heron (winner)
  • Kealan Patrick Burke -- Thirty Miles South of Dry County
  • Jack Ketchum and Lucky McGee -- I’m Not Sam
  • Joe McKinney and Michael McCarty -- Lost Girl of the Lake
  • Norman Prentiss -- The Fleshless Man

  • Magdala AmygdalaShort Fiction
  • Lucy Snyder -- "Magdala Amygdala" (winner)
  • Bruce Boston -- "Surrounded by the Mutant Rain Forest"
  • Joe McKinney -- "Bury My Heart at Marvin Gardens"
  • Weston Ochse -- "Righteous"
  • John Palisano -- "Available Light"


  • Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard -- The Cabin in the Woods (winner)
  • Jane Goldman -- The Woman in Black
  • Sang Kyu Kim -- The Walking Dead, "Killer Within"
  • Tim Minear -- American Horror Story: Asylum, "Dark Cousin"
  • Gary Ross Suzanne Collins and Billy Ray -- The Hunger Games



    New Moon on the Water Black Dahlia and White Rose Fiction Collection

  • Mort Castle -- New Moon on the Water (winner, tie)
  • Joyce Carol Oates -- Black Dahlia and White Rose: Stories (winner, tie)
  • Jonathan Carroll -- Woman Who Married a Cloud: Collected Stories
  • Elizabeth Hand -- Errantry: Strange Stories
  • Glen Hirshberg -- The Janus Tree


    Shadow Show Anthology

  • Mort Castle and Sam Weller -- Shadow Show (winner)
  • Eric J. Guignard -- Dark Tales of Lost Civilizations
  • Eric Miller -- Hell Comes to Hollywood
  • R.J. Cavender, Mark C.Scioneaux, and Robert S. Wilson -- Horror for Good: A Charitable Anthology
  • Stan Swanson -- Slices of Flesh


    Trick or Treat Non-Fiction

  • Lisa Morton -- Trick or Treat: A History of Halloween (winner)
  • Michael Collings -- Writing Darkness
  • Les Klinger -- The Annotated Sandman, Volume 1
  • Kim Paffenroth and John W. Morehead -- The Undead and Theology
  • Kendall R. Phillips -- Dark Directions: Romero, Craven, Carpenter, and the Modern Horror Film


    Vampires, Zombies & Wanton Souls Poetry

  • Marge Simon and Sandy DeLuca -- Vampires, Zombies & Wanton Souls (winner)
  • Linda Addison and Stephen M. Wilson -- Dark Duet
  • Bruce Boston and Gary William Crawford -- Notes from the Shadow City
  • Michael Collings -- A Verse to Horrors
  • Mary A. Turzillo -- Lovers & Killers


    The 2012 Bram Stoker Award® winners: Top row (left to right): Mort Castle, L.L. Soares, Jerad Walters, Rocky Wood, Jonathan Maberry. Lower row/middle: Sam Weller, James Chambers, Lucy Snyder, Marge Simon, Robert McCammon, Caitlin R. Kiernan (seated), Charles Day, Lisa Morton
    (Not pictured: Gene O'Neill, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard, Joyce Carol Oates, and Clive Barker)

    Leave a Comment

    Post a comment

    Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this blog until approved.

    Comments (1)

    Not often I get to be the shortest person in a photo...

    Posted by: Caitlín R. Kiernan | Wednesday June 19, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    Lists + Reviews

    Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


    Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

    News + Features

    News Features Awards


    Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

    Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube