Segrio De La Pava and Katherine Boo Among 2013 PEN Literary Award Winners

A Naked Singularity

PEN American Center announced yesterday the winners of the 2013 PEN Literary Awards.

The PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, which is awarded to the author of a debut novel or short story collection, was awarded to Sergio De La Pava for A Naked Singularity. The prize is worth $25,000. The PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction, worth $10,000, went to Katherine Boo for Behind the Beautiful Forevers. NPR correspondent Frank Deford was selected to receive the lifetime achievement award.

Visit for the full list of winners.

The 2013 PEN Literary Awards Ceremony will take place on October 21 at CUNY Graduate Center’s Proshansky Auditorium in New York, NY. The award winners as well as the runners-up will be honored. The Master of Ceremonies will be Andy Borowitz.

Leave a Comment

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this blog until approved.

Comments (0)

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking


Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards


Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube