Chelsea-Shepard-Sign

Ghosts of the Chelsea Hotel

For over 150 years, the New York landmark has amassed as many tales and secrets as there are bricks in its Victorian Gothic facade. Here is a (by no means comprehensive) list of books celebrating the hotel, its misfits, and their art.

Read more
GeneLuenYang

Ten Kids' Comics That You Need to Read

Maybe you've thought about getting a young reader interested in graphic novels or wanted to check them out yourself but haven't known where to start? I get it. Author and Ambassador Gene Luen Yang is here to help...

Read more
Hit

The Best History Books of August

This entire summer has been great for history books. In keeping with that theme, August has some big hits, once again betraying the common impression that summer is only for beach reads. Here's a selection of our Best History Books...

Read more
Voyeurs-Motel

From Audible: Your Body is on the Beach, But Your Brain Is in the Boardroom

Who says you can’t be smart and beautiful? Use this fact-filled audiobooks to enrich your mind while you work on your tan during these last days of summer.

Read more
LastDays

A Conversation with Best-Selling Author and Oscar Winner, Graham Moore

"The people alive in the 1880s, they don’t even know how to talk about it. They’re so overwhelmed by the sight of the lightbulb. People talk about it like they’re seeing a new color. " -- Graham Moore, author of The Last Days of Night

Read more
Perfect horse

How the Army Taught Courage Before World War II: Elizabeth Letts on "The Perfect Horse"

Elizabeth Letts talks about the brave men who remembered the lesson to put their horses first...

Read more
Amy Gentry-Good As Gone

Talking with Amy Gentry about Her Thriller "Good As Gone" and the Culture of Victim-Blaming

We picked Good as Gone as one of the best books of the month due to Gentry's twisty, turny, and emotionally gut-punching story of a daughter who returns to her family eight years after her abduction. Here, Gentry answers our questions about her debut novel, the likelihood of child kidnapping, and the quiet culture of victim-blaming.

Read more
Fall

Fall Reading is in the Air

Now is the perfect time to plan your perfect fall read.

Read more
Hugo Award

The 2016 Hugo Award Winners for the Best in SF and Fantasy

Another rowdy year in the science fiction and fantasy community comes to a peak with the announcement of the Hugo Award winners.

Read more
Ww

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, family (the kind you create, not the kind you're born with), a time-traveling librarian, and a YA novel for fans of Girl, Interrupted...

Read more
CookingForJeffrey200

Road Test Recipe: Sneak Peek at Ina Garten's Peach Cobbler

A preview of what's to come in Ina Garten's new cookbook, Cooking with Jeffrey, her recipe for the best peach cobbler I've ever had (much less made).

Read more

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube