Best of the Month
Kill-Em

The Best Books of April: Biographies & Memoirs

A look at a few of our favorite biographies and memoirs of April, including a journey into the Godfather of Soul's world by National Book Award-winner James McBride, the latest from Augusten Burroughs, and a stupendously good book about... plants.

Read more
Katie Ruggle-2

"There's Just You and the Bad Guy" - Katie Ruggle on Her New Romantic Suspense Novel

Katie Ruggle talks to us about ice rescues, living off the grid, the opportunities for terror in remote locations, and her new romance, Hold Your Breath.

Read more
Burglars

Cops and Robbers and Architects: A Burglar's Guide to the City

What compels a burglar to burgle? Geoff Manaugh 's A Burglar's Guide to the City--an Amazon Best Book of April--examines the relationship between crime and architecture from the perspective of the bad guys.

Read more
Consequence-Amazon Book Review

"The Truth About What I Did in Iraq": Eric Fair on "Consequence"

Chronicling his experiences as an interrogator in prisons, including the infamous Abu Ghraib, Eric Fair’s disarmingly matter-of-fact memoir addresses the moral ambiguity and emotional toll our soldiers’ actions take...

Read more
Maestra

How Far Would You Go?

L.S. Hilton's Maestra is the book to read when you want to escape into a new clever, sexy, psychological thriller. And a story that includes financial double-dealing, murder, and a sex club or two requires some very interesting research....

Read more
Eligible-Amazon Book Review

She's Funny Like You-Know-Who: Curtis Sittenfeld Channels Jane Austen with "Eligible"

I know I’m supposed to say that Curtis Sittenfeld’s Eligible is a contemporary take on Pride and Prejudice. But...

Read more
The Mathews Men-Amazon Book Review

Amazon's Best Books of April: Today's Releases

A book for fans of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat, a super saucy thriller, and a retelling of a Jane Austen favorite, here are some of our Best of the Month selections, available starting today...

Read more
Lab Girl-Amazon Book Review

Annual Games with Hope Jahren

Hope Jahren's Lab Girl quickly become an in-house favorite around here and, as a result, was named Featured Debut for the month of April. The idea of a geobiologist's memoir may not initially jump out as the most invigorating read,...

Read more
Old-Records

Old Records Never Die, Nor Irrational Dreams

One man's obsessive quest through the dusty bins and backrooms of the used vinyl trade in order to reclaim the essential albums--and some of the feeling--of his youth.

Read more
Best of the month

The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of April

Ghosts, aliens, an early story from Tolkien, and children who return from other lands all have a spot among our best books of the month for April.

Read more

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube