Nonfiction
WorkClean200

Kitchen Wisdom to Organize Your Life

Dan Charnas adds a unique approach to the organizational book boom--using the backbone of professional kitchens, mise-en-place, to make our lives run smoothly, efficiently, and well...

Read more
Rich and Pretty-Amazon Book Review

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, a daughter uncovers shocking truths about her father, a Hemingway classic is deconstructed, and we learn that the country most fanatical about running is...(I won't ruin the surprise)...

Read more
GekkParent-post

The Wisdom of "Geek Parenting"

Authors Stephen H. Segal and Valya Dudycz Lupescu talk about their new book, Geek Parenting, and the surprises they found as they surveyed the rich geek pop culture of books, comics, films, and television in order to find lessons for parents.

Read more
Kill-Em

The Best Books of April: Biographies & Memoirs

A look at a few of our favorite biographies and memoirs of April, including a journey into the Godfather of Soul's world by National Book Award-winner James McBride, the latest from Augusten Burroughs, and a stupendously good book about... plants.

Read more
Burglars

Cops and Robbers and Architects: A Burglar's Guide to the City

What compels a burglar to burgle? Geoff Manaugh 's A Burglar's Guide to the City--an Amazon Best Book of April--examines the relationship between crime and architecture from the perspective of the bad guys.

Read more
Modern Lovers-Amazon Book Review

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, delightfully dysfunctional Brooklynites, tech trends, and a novel that reminds us that even on Martha's Vineyard, bad things can happen. Erin Kodicek: I am going to check out Modern Lovers by Emma Straub, a...

Read more
Geography-Madness

Tales of Travel, Madness, and Despair

Feel a case of Wild Man Syndrome coming on? Or how about Nangiarnek, more commonly known as Kayak Angst? For The Geography of Madness Frank Bures traveled the world in search of bizarre, inexplicable, and all-too-human maladies.

Read more
Consequence-Amazon Book Review

"The Truth About What I Did in Iraq": Eric Fair on "Consequence"

Chronicling his experiences as an interrogator in prisons, including the infamous Abu Ghraib, Eric Fair’s disarmingly matter-of-fact memoir addresses the moral ambiguity and emotional toll our soldiers’ actions take...

Read more
Your-Song

The Song That Changed Carrie Brownstein's Life

Is there a unforgettable song that changed your life? That's the question Bob Boilen (NPR’s All Songs Considered and Tiny Desk Concerts) put to almost three dozen musicians, including Carrie Brownstein. Find out if her answer was Afternoon Delight.

Read more
The Mathews Men-Amazon Book Review

Amazon's Best Books of April: Today's Releases

A book for fans of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat, a super saucy thriller, and a retelling of a Jane Austen favorite, here are some of our Best of the Month selections, available starting today...

Read more

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube