Nonfiction
Upstream

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, essays from a beloved poet, the author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette returns, and a story about a detective who gets paid with baked goods...

Read more
Chelsea-Shepard-Sign

Ghosts of the Chelsea Hotel

For over 150 years, the New York landmark has amassed as many tales and secrets as there are bricks in its Victorian Gothic facade. Here is a (by no means comprehensive) list of books celebrating the hotel, its misfits, and their art.

Read more
Perfect horse

How the Army Taught Courage Before World War II: Elizabeth Letts on "The Perfect Horse"

Elizabeth Letts talks about the brave men who remembered the lesson to put their horses first...

Read more
Ww

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, family (the kind you create, not the kind you're born with), a time-traveling librarian, and a YA novel for fans of Girl, Interrupted...

Read more
American-Heiress-1a

"Death to the Fascist Insect": Patty Hearst, the SLA, and the Swinging 70s

We ask American Heiress author Jeffrey Toobin about one of the wildest, most sensational stories of our age: the 1974 kidnapping of Patricia Hearst.

Read more
Schumer

August's Celebrity Picks: Amy Schumer

The award-winning, wise cracking, Anna Wintour-impersonating writer, producer, director and comedian extraordinaire shares what she's been reading lately...

Read more
Ww

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, 400 years of pillaging fun, another trip to Auschwitz, and other soul crushing--but awesome--reads!...

Read more
Nadja-Spiegelman

Best Books of August: Biographies & Memoirs

A sampling of our favorite true-to-life stories from August, led by Nadja Spiegelman's I’m Supposed to Protect You from All This, a memoir of mothers and daughters, memory, and the invention of family narrative.

Read more
BOTM

Amazon's Best Books of August: Today's Releases

The Best of the Month selections released today include a novel penned by an author typically known--and beloved--for her young adult fiction, and the inside scoop on the movers and shakers who manage--or try to--Tinseltown's elite...

Read more
Leave me

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, the first adult offering from a best-selling YA author, falling in love in another language, and one of the kings of spy fiction tells how his background in British Intelligence informed his work, and his life...

Read more

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube