Nonfiction
Glennon Doyle Melton-photo by Amy Paulson

"Love Warrior" Glennon Doyle Melton Names Her Favorite Books of 2016

"Love Warrior" author Glennon Doyle Melton names three great books that inspired her in 2016.

Read more
Weekend reading

Weekend Reading

This edition features a detective tale set in Victorian London, two Beach Boy bios, and a salve for the slovenly...

Read more
Star Trek Encyclopedia

How to Wrap Your Arms (and Head) around 50 Years of Star Trek

What started as a five-year mission has bloomed into fifty years of Star Trek. Six new books celebrate this golden anniversary and offer more details than ever about this enterprising (ha!) franchise.

Read more
PB_p30

It's All in Your Mind. Really, All of It.

Want to know which demons lurk in the dank cellar of your skull, driving your moods and behavior? Go beyond the inkblot with Psychobook, an archive of the often bizarre history of psychological testing.

Read more
Upstream

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, essays from a beloved poet, the author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette returns, and a story about a detective who gets paid with baked goods...

Read more
Chelsea-Shepard-Sign

Ghosts of the Chelsea Hotel

For over 150 years, the New York landmark has amassed as many tales and secrets as there are bricks in its Victorian Gothic facade. Here is a (by no means comprehensive) list of books celebrating the hotel, its misfits, and their art.

Read more
Perfect horse

How the Army Taught Courage Before World War II: Elizabeth Letts on "The Perfect Horse"

Elizabeth Letts talks about the brave men who remembered the lesson to put their horses first...

Read more
Ww

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, family (the kind you create, not the kind you're born with), a time-traveling librarian, and a YA novel for fans of Girl, Interrupted...

Read more
American-Heiress-1a

"Death to the Fascist Insect": Patty Hearst, the SLA, and the Swinging 70s

We ask American Heiress author Jeffrey Toobin about one of the wildest, most sensational stories of our age: the 1974 kidnapping of Patricia Hearst.

Read more
Schumer

August's Celebrity Picks: Amy Schumer

The award-winning, wise cracking, Anna Wintour-impersonating writer, producer, director and comedian extraordinaire shares what she's been reading lately...

Read more
|

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube