Nonfiction
Consequence-Amazon Book Review

"The Truth About What I Did in Iraq": Eric Fair on "Consequence"

Chronicling his experiences as an interrogator in prisons, including the infamous Abu Ghraib, Eric Fair’s disarmingly matter-of-fact memoir addresses the moral ambiguity and emotional toll our soldiers’ actions take...

Read more
Your-Song

The Song That Changed Carrie Brownstein's Life

Is there a unforgettable song that changed your life? That's the question Bob Boilen (NPR’s All Songs Considered and Tiny Desk Concerts) put to almost three dozen musicians, including Carrie Brownstein. Find out if her answer was Afternoon Delight.

Read more
The Mathews Men-Amazon Book Review

Amazon's Best Books of April: Today's Releases

A book for fans of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat, a super saucy thriller, and a retelling of a Jane Austen favorite, here are some of our Best of the Month selections, available starting today...

Read more
Pulitzer Prize-Amazon Book Review

2016 Pulitzer Prizes

The 2016 Pulitzer Prizes were announced this week. Congratulations to the winners in the literature categories...

Read more
Heat and Light-Amazon Book Review

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, a novel by a writer so skilled that she makes the subject of fracking interesting, the highly anticipated finale to a bestselling supernatural suspense series, and an author obsesses over the Rolling Stones...

Read more
Lab Girl-Amazon Book Review

Annual Games with Hope Jahren

Hope Jahren's Lab Girl quickly become an in-house favorite around here and, as a result, was named Featured Debut for the month of April. The idea of a geobiologist's memoir may not initially jump out as the most invigorating read,...

Read more
Old-Records

Old Records Never Die, Nor Irrational Dreams

One man's obsessive quest through the dusty bins and backrooms of the used vinyl trade in order to reclaim the essential albums--and some of the feeling--of his youth.

Read more
PEN Winners-Amazon Book Review

PEN Literary Award Winners

There are some very happy and well-deserving authors who woke up a bit richer this morning, with the news that they were recipients of a prestigious PEN Literary Award...

Read more
LongShadowSmallGhosts

Author Jeff Hobbs on "The Long Shadow of Small Ghosts"

The author of one of 2015's best books shares his thoughts about reading a new work of nonfiction that he says,"...is all to the good and might even leave you changed."

Read more
Weekend Reading-Amazon Book Review

Weekend Reading

In this edition of Weekend Reading, secrets and lies, George Washington and Benedict Arnold, and a "rib-tickler" about death (of course)...

Read more
|

Lists + Reviews

Best Books Literature + Fiction Nonfiction Kids + Young Adult Mystery, Thriller + Suspense Science Fiction + Fantasy Comics + Graphic Novels Romance Eating + Drinking

Authors

Interviews Guest Essays Celebrity Picks

News + Features

News Features Awards

Editors

Omnivoracious, The Amazon Book Review

Feeds Facebook Twitter YouTube